Welcome to Fact Boss
Eurovision 2021 Trivia | 75 facts about the annual Song Contest

Eurovision 2021 Trivia | 75 facts about the annual Song Contest

The Eurovision Song Contest of 2021 is the 65th edition of the annual event taking place in Europe with the participation of over 38 countries. So let’s find out some trivia and facts about the song contest. The Eurovision Song Contest 2021 was the 65th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest The contest was held in Rotterdam, the Netherlands Following the country’s victory at the 2019 contest with Duncan Laurence’s “Arcade” The Netherlands was due to host the 2020 contest It was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic It was the fifth time that the Netherlands had hosted the contest Having previously done so in 1958, 1970, 1976 and 1980 Organised by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and host broadcasters Nederlandse Publieke Omroep (NPO), Nederlandse Omroep Stichting (NOS) and AVROTROS The contest was held at Rotterdam Ahoy It consisted of two semi-finals on 18 and 20 May, and the final on 22 May 2021 The EBU discussed carryovers between the 2020 and 2021 contests Many participating countries allocated the same artists who were due to represent them in 2020 The three live shows were hosted by Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley, Jan Smit and Nikkie de Jager Thirty-nine countries participated in the contest Bulgaria and Ukraine returned after their absences from the 2019 contest While Hungary and Montenegro did not return after their 2019 participation Armenia and Belarus had originally planned to participate But Armenia later withdrew due to social and political crises following the 2020 Nagorno-Karabakh war Belarus was disqualified after their intended entry was found to be in violation of the contest’s rules The winner was Italy with the song “Zitti e buoni” The song is performed by Måneskin It is written by the band’s members Damiano David, Ethan Torchio, Thomas Raggi and Victoria De Angelis This was Italy’s third victory in the contest Following their wins in 1964 and 1990 Making them only the second member of the so-called “Big 5” to win the contest since Germany in 2010 Måneskin’s victory also makes them the first band to win the contest since Lordi for Finland in 2006 France, Switzerland, Iceland and Ukraine rounded out the top five With France and Switzerland achieving their best results since 1991 and 1993 respectively For the first time since 1995, none of the top three entries were performed in English Also for the first time since the current voting system was implemented in 2016, four countries received nul points from the televote These were the Netherlands, Spain, Germany and the United Kingdom The latter becoming the first country to receive nul points from both the jury and televote This was also the second time that the United Kingdom had received nul points in the contest The last time having been in 2003 For the first time since its debut in 2015, Australia failed to qualify for the final Leaving Ukraine as the only country to have never failed to qualify from the semi-finals since their introduction in 2004 By Eurovision tradition, the Netherlands received the right to host the Eurovision Song Contest after the country won the competition in 2019 The Dutch host broadcasters NPO, NOS and AVROTROS launched the bidding process in the same month, on 29 May In which five cities—Arnhem, ‘s-Hertogenbosch, Maastricht, Rotterdam, and Utrecht—submitted their bid books during a ceremonial event held in Hilversum on 10 July 2019 On 16 July, Maastricht and Rotterdam were shortlisted, and after the NPO visited both cities, on 30 August 2019 Rotterdam was announced as the host city of the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 Following the cancellation of the 2020 contest, the EBU began talks with broadcasters NPO, NOS and AVROTROS, as well as the city of Rotterdam, on the possibility of staging the 2021 contest in the city On 23 April 2020, the municipal council of Rotterdam approved an increased budget after Dutch media reported that the city would require an additional €6.7 million to host the contest The decision was imminent as it was required that the EBU be informed by late April if Rotterdam was willing to host the contest If Rotterdam declined to host the event, NPO, NOS and AVROTROS had until mid-May 2020 to find an alternative During the broadcast of Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light, which aired on 16 May 2020, Rotterdam was confirmed as the host city of the 2021 contest The “Turquoise Carpet” event, where the contestants and their delegations are presented before the accredited press and fans It took place at the Rotterdam Cruise Terminal on 16 May 2021 On 18 September 2020, along with possible scenarios, the EBU confirmed that the 2020 planned presenters would be appointed as presenters for the 2021 contest as well Actress and television host Chantal Janzen, singer and commentator for the contest Jan Smit Singer Edsilia Rombley, who represented the Netherlands in the 1998 and 2007 contests And beauty vlogger Nikkie de Jager (NikkieTutorials) In addition, De Jager and Krista Siegfrids (Finland’s rep

About Us

Nothing but the facts. Unlock knowledge and tap into your inner nerd with these great facts.

Subscribe to our newsletter and offers from our partners!